CAA George A. Weinstock Award

For Lifetime Achievement and Service to the Industry


About Mr. Weinstock

  • More than four decades leading three of the security industry’s most prominent installation and monitoring companies
  • Highly active in security industry issues, including president of both the National Burglar and Fire Alarm Association (NBFAA, now Electronic Security Association or ESA) and Western Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (WBFAA)
  • Served in the Air National Guard and U.S. Air Force

George Weinstock entered the security industry in 1955 when he joined the family’s Morse Signal Devices of California, where he served as President from 1970 to 1981. He was concurrently President of Morse Signal Devices of Cleveland and partner and director of Ans-R-Tel Answering Service /Broadway Le Mesa Answering Services of San Diego. He sold that business to partner Robert Berlin in 1983 and established American Home Security.

He was President, Director and CEO of American Home Security from 1984 until 1993 when he sold the company to Protection One where he served as Executive Vice President. George participated in our organizations from the moment he entered the industry.

His role model was his father Morris, who the industry has honored with the presentation by the ESA of the Morris F. Weinstock Award since 1970 to honor the Person of the Year. George chaired his first NBFAA committee in 1969, and was elected President of the national organization in 1973. In 1976, he was elected President of the Western Burglar & Fire Alarm Association, the organization that preceded the CAA. Over the years, he has served as Director, Chair or other leadership position in an array of organizations that serve the industry.

George served on the California Alarm Association Board of Directors as Large Company Representative, and was the founding Chair of the CAA Newsletter Committee that produces THE MIRROR. The California Alarm Association presented him with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 1999 CAA Winter Convention and announced the establishment of the George A. Weinstock Award as the highest honor to be bestowed by the Association.

Past Recipients of the George A. Weinstock Award

Every year since 2000, the CAA has awarded a member of the alarm industry this distinguished award for lifetime achievement. 


Chuck Petrusha

Advanced Security Systems
2022 Recipient

Mike Salk

Reed Brothers Security
2021 Recipient

Mike Salk

Reed Brothers Security
2020 Recipient

Robert Michel

Valley Alarm
2019 Recipient

Mark Sepulveda

USA Alarm Systems
2018 Recipient

Mike Matson

Matson Alarm
2017 Recipient
Robert Jennison

Bob Jennison

Post Alarm
2016 Recipient

Matt Westphal

Bay Alarm
2015 Recipient

Ron Lander

Ultra Safe
2014 Recipient

Charles Schwager

Barkin, Perren, Schwager & Dolan, LLP
2013 Recipient

Patty Hartman

Burgarello Alarms
2012 Recipient

Shane Clary

Bay Alarm Company
2011 Recipient
jon sargent

Jon Sargent

ADT Security Services
2010 Recipient
geroge demarco

George De Marco

2009 Recipient
Tony Smith

Tony Smith

Security Finance Associates
2008 Recipient
Alan Pepper

Alan Pepper

Mitchell, Silberberg & Knupp, LLP
2007 Recipient

Frank Burke

USA Alarm Systems, Inc.
2006 Recipient
Rod Uffindell

Rod Uffindell

Denalect Alarm Co.
2006 Recipient
Lessing Gold

Lessing Gold

Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP
2005 Recipient

Bruce Westphal

Bay Alarm Company
2003 Recipient

Roger Westphal

Bay Alarm Company
2003 Recipient

George Gunning

USA Alarm Systems
2002 Recipient
Harvey Eisenstadt

Harvey Eisenstadt

Bosch Security Systems
2001 Recipient
Ron Spiller

Ron Spiller

Security Industry Association
2000 Recipient
Subscribe For Updates

Get the latest event news & legislative
updates that affect your business!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.